If you are arrested for DUI in Palm Beach Florida, you will be taken to the Palm Beach County Jail where you will be asked to blow into a breath-testing machine (or breathalyzer) so that the police can determine whether your breath-alcohol level is over the legal limit of .08.
But what if you refuse to take that test? The police can't force you to take it. Nevertheless, there are certain legal consequences for refusing to blow into the breath-testing machine. What are they?
1. If it is the first time you've refused to take the breathalyzer test, then your driver's license will be suspended for 1 year.
2. If you've previously refused to blow into the machine, then your driver's license will be suspended for 18 months.
3. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test and your driver's license has been previously suspended for refusing to blow into the machine, then you can be charged criminally for refusing to blow (in addition to being charged with committing the crime of DUI). The reason why it is important that you can be charged criminally for refusing to blow is that one possible penalty is that you can end up spending some time in jail.
If you have been charged with DUI or are currently under investigation for DUI, call me at 561-832-4348.
Llama ahora: (561) 832-4348
Respetamos su privacidad. La información que nos brinda será utilizada para responder sus preguntas o agendar una cita si usted así lo solicita.
© Propiedad Intelectual 2023. Abogado Penalista en Florida. Todos los Derechos Reservados.